Home | Health & Wellness Sexual EducationWellness Committee | Substance Abuse Education | Vaping: Risks & Prevention|Health & Physical Education | Athletics| Cyber Safety

Be Well to Learn, Learn to Be Well

The Haverhill Public Schools recognizes that good nutrition and regular physical activity are essential for students to maximize their full academic, physical and mental potentials, and maintain lifelong health and well-being.  Haverhill Public Schools has a responsibility to foster a school environment that helps students learn and maintain lifelong healthy eating and lifestyle habits. Many factors play a role in achieving a healthy school environment, including foods and beverages available to students while at school, nutrition education, opportunities for physical activity, developing resilience, and other school-based programs and activities designed to promote student wellness.  The School Wellness Advisory Committee is responsible for establishing and measuring the implementation of the district’s Wellness Policy. Committee members work collaboratively and offer multiple perspectives to assure the local district Wellness Policy is consistent with the district educational and fiscal goals; optimizes the health and well-being of students; and fulfills the requirements of section 204 of the Child Nutrition and WIC Reauthorization Act of 2004 (Public Law 108-265), and MGL 105 CMR 215: Standards for School Wellness Advisory Committees. 

We have a dynamic and experienced group of individuals who are dedicated members of our community. The focus of this Wellness Committee this year will be ‘Fun, Fitness & Family’ with a specific emphasis on student education and family/community engagement.


School Wellness Policy (last approved version, 2012)

HPS Health & Physical Education Brochure (Coming Soon)

Health & Wellness Committee

*Please refer to Minutes of meetings for participants

Health and Wellness Staff

Dr. John Maddox, District Physician 

Cara LaBelle, Dean of Health, HHS Health

Tom O’Brien, Athletic Director, HHS

Amy-Jo Gallagher, Athletic Director Secretary

School Staff Directory

Bradford Elementary School
Juan Jimenez (PE)

Consentino Middle School
Peter Begley (PE)
Lauren Kimball (PE)
David Gibson (Gr. 5-8 Health)

Gateway Academy
Michael Scatamacchia (PE/Health)

Golden Hill Elementary
Robin Vinci and John DeAngelo (PE)

Haverhill High School
Jordan Britton, and Tom Kotosky (PE), Matt Hooton
Paige Crimmin (PE)

Meredith Lambert (Health I), Hannah Potter (Health I)

DawnMarie Paradis (Health II)
Cara LaBelle (Health II)

Hunking School
Cale Wood and Ralph Wolfendale (PE)
Lori Curry (Gr 5-8 Health)

Moody School
John DeAngelo (PE)



Nettle Middle School
Eric MacDonald (Gr 5/6 PE/Health)
Maeve Torres (Gr 7/8 PE/Health)

Pentucket Lake School
Craig Barnard (PE)

Silver Hill Elementary School
Kevin Murphy (Gr 5 Health)

Tilton Lower
Chrissy Hickey (PE)

Walnut Square
Craig Barnard (K-3 PE)

Whittier Middle School
Kevin Demaris (PE)
Nicole Reynolds (Health)