Welcome to the HPS Special Education Department

4 Summer Street, Suite 210 Haverhill, MA 01830 | Phone: 978-374-3435 | Fax: 978-374-3413

Links and Resources

Purpose of Special Education

To ensure that an eligible student with disabilities receive a free, appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment that enables the student to make effective progress within the general education program.

Vision for Special Education in Haverhill Public Schools

Through clearly defined and uniform procedures, roles, and programming across the district, we are committed to working collaboratively in an inclusive environment where all special education students receive specialized instruction, supports, and services in the least restrictive environment to access and demonstrate progress within grade-level standards.

Haverhill Public Schools adheres to state and federal regulations that affect special education and children in particular.

Deborah Ibanez

Interim Director of Special Education

deborah.ibanez@haverhill-ps.org

Forreste deGroot

Assistant Director of Special Education

forreste.lombard@haverhill-ps.org

Kristi-Lynn Craig

ECC Director at the Moody School

Kristilynn.Craig@Haverhill-ps.org

Karen Szarek

Special Education Supervisor, Haverhill High School

KSzarek@Haverhill-ps.org

Hannah Potter

Special Education Supervisor K-8

hannah.potter@haverhill-ps.org

Matthew Scanlon

Special Education Supervisor, K-8

MScanlon@Haverhill-ps.org

Judy Nesson

Out of District Placement Coordinator

jnesson@haverhill-ps.org

Yota Zoumpoulakis

Principal Clerk

978-420-1932

pzoumpoulakis@haverhill-ps.org

Kristen Pistone

Principal Clerk

978-420-1916

kpistone@haverhill-ps.org

Lourdes Lopez

Principal Bookkeeper

978-420-1935

llopez@haverhill-ps.org

Dawn Keenan

Principal Clerk

978-420-1929

dawn.keenan@haverhill-ps.org

Mikaela Carrozza

Principal Clerk

mcarrozza@haverhill-ps.org