The School Committee consists of the Mayor and six members who are elected at large by the citizens of Haverhill for a term of four years. In accordance with the City Charter, the Mayor serves as the Ex-Officio Chairperson and the School Committee annually elects a Vice Chairperson who presides in the absence of the Mayor. The Committee is a deliberative, policy-making body. Policies are executed and the System administered through professional personnel employed by the Committee.

Regular meetings of the School Committee are held at 7:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month in the Theodore A. Pelosi, Jr. Council Chambers, 4 Summer Street in Haverhill. Citizens of Haverhill who wish to submit items  for a meeting agenda, should email the agenda item to the School Committee Office, Attn:  Beverly Cassano, Executive Assistant to the Haverhill School Committee with a copy to both the Superintendent of Schools and the Mayor no later than the seven (7) days  prior to a Committee meeting is held.

The following statement is read at the beginning of each meeting:  those attending tonight’s meeting should be aware that the meeting is being audio and video recorded by HCTV (add any other media outlet/party which tells you they will be recording).  Any audience members who wish to record any part of the meeting must inform the Chair who will announce the recording.  This is to comply with the MA wiretap statute.

The school committee abides by the Open Meeting Law and Roberts Rules of Order. The Open Meeting Law Guide can be found below along with the link to the official site for Robert Rules of Order:

2017 Open Meeting Law Guide

Roberts Rules of Order

Emergency order OML 2020

At its meeting of March 26, 2020, the Haverhill School Committee temporarily suspended Policy BDEB. However, Mayor Fiorentini announced that the public could email any questions or comments to