• Professional Doors Open Wide Across Districts in Haverhill Elementary Schools

    Professional Doors Open Wide Across Districts in Haverhill Elementary Schools: Kindergarten Teachers Walk-Through Each Other’s Classrooms

    From May 15 through May 18, Haverhill Kindergarten Teachers of the Bartlett, Bradford, Pentucket Lake and Silver Hill Schools; and, Lowell Kindergarten Teachers of the Bailey, Moody, and Reilly Schools conducted walk-throughs of each other’s classrooms, observing instruction with their students, and sharing best practices.  As partners of professional development during the last 18 months, Haverhill and Lowell kindergarten staff, literacy specialists, and administrators, have concluded their first, full year designing curriculum implementing DESE’s Statewide Focus on K2 principles of early literacy and learning.  

    In the spirit of collaboration, teachers observed how interactive, standards-based literacy classroom centers have been established and, how students are engaging with their peers while immersed in two different Focus on K2 units of study; Animals 2×2 (Lowell) and Our Earth (Haverhill). After each morning walk-through, Haverhill and Lowell kindergarten teachers met together, discussing their successes and strategies aligning Massachusetts’ five principles of early literacy and learning throughout both districts. The week of visits was reviewed positively by all, and the development of cross-district kindergarten professional learning communities have been planned for the next school year.

    Our thanks to 19 extraordinary kindergarten teachers, their 423 students, and administrators for opening their doors on behalf of early literacy instruction: Rashaun Martin, Haverhill Public Schools, District Supervisor, Social Studies and World Languages; Melissa Newell, Lowell Public Schools, Coordinator of English Language Arts & Literacy, K-12; Margaret Rodero, Literacy Specialist; Donna Mastrovito, Literacy Specialist; Sean Carabatsos, Principal, Reilly Elementary School, Lowell; Margaret Shepherd, Principal, Silver Hill Charter School, Haverhill; Kimberly Clements, Principal, Bailey Elementary School, Lowell; Maureen Gray, Principal, Bartlett Kindergarten Center, Haverhill; Roberta Keefe, Principal, Moody Elementary School, Lowell; Dianne Connolly, Principal, Pentucket Lake Elementary School, Haverhill; and Louise Perry, Principal, Bradford Elementary School, Haverhill.  

    This is supported by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Early Literacy Grant and CREST Collaborative.

    TwitterFacebookEmailWant to share this page?
(978) 374-3400
Copyright © 2013 Haverhill Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.